Noise

i heard a noise in this darkness;

a noise which instilled the fear of death.

which got me thinking:

my joints hurt a bit;

there are white hairs on my head;

high school has come and gone;

college has come and will soon pass.

“i too shall pass” says my life.

“tick”

“tick”

“tick”

says father time;

says the grandfather clock.

 

every swing of the pendulum brings me:

closer to fear;

closer to God;

closer to the end;

closer to Home;

closer to sorrow;

closer to rejoicing?

 

i heard a noise in this darkness

which caused me to ponder life;

and death.

 

have i done all i wanted by now?

will i get the chance to do all i want?

what do i want?

where should i go?

what should i do?

will i have a future?

or will the noise in the darkness come tonight?

Leave a comment